Board & Staff



(Elected 2012, Re-elected 2015 & 2018)

Duncan Feetham

Duncan is an RREC member of thirty years’ standing and was Chairman of their Board for two years until April 2016. His background is in engineering and further education and he has organised the speakers for the Historic Weekend since 2013, as well as being a member of the Club Annual Rally team and a guide to many visits of The Hunt House.



(Elected 2012, Re-elected 2013 & 2016, Co-opted 2020)

Jane Pedler

A former Chairman of the RREC, Jane is passionate in her belief that the Foundation and the Club need to work together both in the preservation of the valuable archives held at The Hunt House and in supporting the skill of engineering in the modern world, including the education and encouragement of young engineers. Her many years as an adviser to the Trustees of SHRMF are complemented by considerable experience gained in running her family business.



(Elected 2014, Re-elected 2017)

Chris Ball

Chris Ball is a life member of the Foundation and has been an active member of the RREC for twenty years. He is involved with the Foundation Archives project and is cataloguing 16mm films donated by RR Motor Cars. He ran his family business for nearly 50 years and is confident his experience of employing 16 people will bring a valuable contribution to the workings of the SHRMF.


Independent Director 

(Elected 2015, Re-elected 2016 & 2017)

Stephen Byrne

Steve is a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and his technical field is metrology. Predominantly an automotive engineering background in terms of career he has worked with both MTC and at Tata. More recently he has moved into a customer facing, business development role and has won several £1m+ projects for MTC and has strong working relationship with all of his customers. Steve has drive and determination and is a strong team player.



(Elected 2012, Re-elected 2015 & 2018)

Philip Hall

With a deep interest in Rolls-Royce and Bentley motor cars since his school-days, Philip has become not only the doyen of The Hunt House, but also the leading authority on its contents and where they are to be found in the Archives. He was Chief Executive of the Foundation from 1996 to 2008, and still spends two or three days each week at The Hunt House placing his expertise at the disposal of all comers.


Company Secretary

Appointed by the Board (2012)

Mark Griffiths

Mark is Company Secretary, Senior Partner of a firm of Solicitors in Bristol, and was Master of the Worshipful Company of Carmen in 2015/2016.

clive hickman.jpg


Appointed by the Board (2013)

Clive Hickman

Dr Clive Hickman BSc PhD MBA FREng CEng FIMechE has been Chief Executive of Tata Motors European Technical Centre, Head of Engineering for Tata Motors India, Managing Director of Ricardo UK, Engineering Director at MIRA and Executive Engineer with Rover Group. Currently he is Chief Executive of the Manufacturing Technology Centre, where he is responsible for manufacturing innovation and creating a cohesive link between academia and industry.

john beecroft.jpg

Deputy Chairman and Treasurer

(Elected 2014, Re-elected 2017)

John Beecroft

John Beecroft has been a member of RREC since 1988, has organised many substantial events, workshops and section weekends, and has been Chairman of Northern Section since 2010. He has a keen interest in the history of Rolls and Royce, the early history of the company, and the cars, and feels it is extremely important that this history is promoted, not only to members of the SHRMF and the RREC but also beyond.



(Elected 2014, Re-elected 2017)

Cedric Ashley

Dr Cedric Ashley CBE PhD FIMechE. After an engineering apprenticeship at Rolls-Royce Aero Engines, Derby, and a BSc and PhD and Lectureship in Automotive Engineering at Birmingham University, he was then Chief Executive of the Motor Industry Research Association, where he was awarded a CBE. In 2007 he became a Trustee of the Old Foundation, and has continued both as an Advisor to the New Foundation and now as an Elected Director with responsibility for organizing the Royce Memorial Lecture Programme and chairing the Education, Prizes and Awards Committee.

SHRMF Logo_edited.jpg


(Independent, Appointed 2020)

Bill McGawley OBE

SHRMF Logo_edited.jpg

James Black


(Independent, Appointed 2020)



Clive Green


(Elected 2020)  

Charles Tabor


(Elected by the Board July 2016)

In addition to managing his family’s 2000 acre farm in Essex, Charles has been closely involved in all aspects of the Foundation since its inception. Instrumental in the purchase, renovation and conversion of The Hunt House, he was Deputy Chairman of the Foundation under Frank Shaw and then Chairman until 2008 when the Peter Baines Wing was completed: he gave full support to the formation of the new limited company in 2012 and since then has continued to be a Director, constant supporter and major benefactor to the Foundation.

Business Manager (002).jpg

John Baker

Business Manager

Joined the Foundation July 2018.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Twitter - White Circle

© 2018 SHRMF